Posted in Society

Being A Bihari

Sometime back, Rajdeep Sardesai wrote an interesting article about the state of infrastructure in Maharashtra. It’s just that he used an offending title for his piece – ‘Is Maharashtra the new Bihar?’

It’s not that I am new to hearing such things about my home state. I am used to hearing all kinds of weird statements being made about the culture and people of Bihar. What upsets me is that a large section of Indian population thinks that nothing can be as bad as Bihar. But then it is just not true. The infamy that Bihar has earned is, to a large extent, due to the antics of the man who ruled Bihar for almost 15 years. During his (mis)rule, Lalu Yadav single-handedly undid all the good work Biharis had done throughout the history of India.

The image of Biharis across India was determined solely by Yadav’s activities and utterances. And we grew used to hearing things like – So you are a Bihari? But you don’t sound like one !…Do you still visit Bihar? Is it true, all this news about lawlessness? Is it safe to walk with your family during the day? Often during casual conversations, people remark, “Yeh kardi na tumne ek dum bihariyon waali baat“. Translated loosely, it means ‘What you have said is typical of a Bihari’.

If answering this was not enough, I was shocked when I came across the profile of a Delhi-based girl on the social networking site orkut. She had written in her profile – ‘Do not add me if you are a Bihari’. This was an insult I just couldn’t handle. But there is little I could have done than move to another page. The young girl had forgotten that her capital city of Delhi records more cases of rape than does the state capital Patna. Just as people who mock us Biharis forget that year after year, the highest number of students joining IITs and UPSC are from Bihar. Not to forget that the first President of India, Dr. Rajendra Prasad hailed from Bihar.

IIMA

Now, back to Rajdeep’s article. He wrote that the condition of roads in Maharashtra is as bad as in Bihar and if this sorry state of affairs continues, Maharashtra could well be the new Bihar. But Bihar hasn’t done that bad. If you look at the sources of revenue, Maharashtra is better placed than Bihar. Because of high taxes, professional taxes, octroi and other sources of income, the money that it has far exceeds that available to the Government of Bihar. Still, if infrastructure in poor, shouldn’t Maharashtra be dubbed more inefficient than Bihar?

If you look at some other parameters, Bihar is not as bad as it is regularly made out to be. The naxalite situation is equally grave in Orissa and Andhra Pradesh. The toilet usage in Maharashtra is much below the national average (Bihar ranks better) and the communal harmony in Bihar is way ahead of that in the economic powerhouse that is Gujarat. Even Prosperous and so-called forward states like Punjab and Haryana fare much more poorly than Bihar when it comes to female foeticide and infanticide and criminalization of politics is more acute in neighboring Uttar Pradesh than it is in Bihar.

I do not wish to argue than my state is the best. No! It’s not and in fact, when you take all parameters into consideration, it would definitely rank below all the other states I have mentioned here. But please think twice before asking us those questions. We are better than others in some parameters and will surely realize our potential with time.

Lalu Yadav’s speech reinforced the image of the Bihari as a loud and uncultured oaf. We cried ourselves hoarse that not all Biharis are like that, but to no avail. The nation only believed what Lalu was doing. Now, that our beloved Laluji has lectured at IIM-A, there is some hope of redeeming our lost honour.

9 thoughts on “Being A Bihari

  1. To add to Bihar’s hall of fame, the greatest of emperors (Kautilya) and diplomats (Chanakya)in indian History hailed from Bihar. Bihar has left its mark as cultural state in Indian History. Rightly said, we cannot downgrade a whole state just because of few people.

  2. Hi,
    I read your article with great interest and share your thoughts on mostly everything.
    How many times have i been told “u dont sound like a bihari” “u dont look like a bihari” …my question is how is a bihari supposed to sound/look.??
    I tell people ,i am from Bihar(cant change that and neither do i wnat to) but smart enough to know that everywhere and everyplace there is all different kinds of people..so cannnot generalize…it is stupid as saying “every white person is a catholic” ….so when ppl say/think that everyone in bihar sounds like “laloo” …i retort…..are u generally stupid/or just being dumb right now ?

  3. First of all, Dileep Sardesai is very poorly informed about the state of affairs in Maharashtra. Maharashtra has the 2nd highest literacy rate (77.27%) amongst all the major states in India, and produces the most number of college graduates in India. 2nd most number of technical graduates after Tamil Nadu. It recently overtook Gujarat as far as manufacturing output is concerned, and his number 2 in the nation in terms of IT exports (after Karnataka). The Vidarbha region of Maharashtra is extremely backward, but the rest of Maharashtra is flourishing. So there is no comparison between Maharashtra and Bihar. Now as far as Bihari’s are concerned, I think Bihari’s get a bad name mostly because of Lalu Prasad Yadav. If the political situation of Bihar is put in right hands, the state can achieve a lot. Bihari’s are very hardworking (unlike UP ites) and smart.

  4. I have a few more points to add here. We need to see the kind of support the state has received and the kind of progress it has done. I have full respect for Shri Laloo Prasad Yadav. He is the man to bring profit in the Railways which was running at a loss for decades.

    Also, see how far Bihar has come. It is the poor state with minimum facilities but inspite of the lack of support the Biharis dominate JEE and UPSC. Other states have a zillion coaching centers but it is the Biharis who finally steal the show. The Biharis have the emotional courage to move out of their root land and mark a mark in another land. It is easier to prove yourself in your own land; try working in another land without your people and see how much courage you need. Biharis have done this.

    When it comes to corruption we must admit that it is a poor place where people are struggling for food and fodder. When the basic need of a person is not met he is bound to go against the ‘norms’ of the society. The difference is corruption in Bihar is due to poverty( to fulfill a need) while corruption in other states( will not quote names as it mind create controverises) is more out of shrewdness. Is it fair to compare a need of food and shelter with shrewdness.

    Yes Bihar has way to go and I notice many Biharis do not openly admit this ( Udit Narayan is actually Udit Narayan Jha) and I must thank the rest of India for being so receptive towards us. I hope soon we are also counted amongst the best states in India.

    A Bihari

  5. I just came across this today when I typed on Google why are bihari’s treated the way they are .
    I am a Bihari ,born in patna and studied in St. Joseph’s convent and Notre dame Academy .
    I am particularly fair and fluent in the queen’s language.
    I came to Bangalore 3onths ago to study law in one the most prestigious colleges in India ,
    I made friends , good friends who never taunted me or made me feel that I was any less than them.
    And then I met a boy ,from Delhi ,who always tried to humiliate me bringing instances of how my state is an underdeveloped state or how degraded the status of girls is, in my state .
    I never was good at defending myself verbally , so here I write what I have to say in Bihar’s defence .
    Bihar is my hometown , I agree that we’re not that developed ,we don’t have a lot of malls and fancy restaurants to go to .
    I agree that people think Bihari’s are good for nothing ,illiterate people who always practice violence .
    Have you people heard about Delhi? And the rate at which the rape cases are increasing ? Or the number of cases of female feoticide ? Or the crime rate?
    Do you know about that Orissa has rhe highest rate of domestic violence and dowry killings?
    The fact that the status of municipal administration in Mumbai is pitiable ,so much so that it contains the largest slum area in our continent .
    I request you people to please go and check .
    Bihar might not be the best but we sure as hell don’t deserve the hatred that we recieve .
    Bihari’s are good people ,give them a chance .
    I am a Bihari and I don’t feel to hide that fact ,in fact I say it with pride that I belong to the state of Dr. Rajendra prasad ,the state where we don’t judge a persons intellect merely by his speech . We are a state which produces majority of IPS ,IAS and IITians for our country .
    Bhojpuri is a language that is worth appreciating . it’s my regional language . I don’t feel ashamed of talking in bhojpuri ,or Hindi for that matter and I speak with pride .
    I am a girl who likes to wear western clothes and doesnt use abusive language .
    I am a Bihari . I am Bihar .

  6. I am not from bihar but i respect and love bihar and its people the most, not just due to its past grandeur and glory but also due to its people who are really hardworking and down to earth.And i am fortunate to have many of them as my friends.

Leave a comment