Posted in Education, Entertainment

The importance of having multiple interests

Every man (and woman) should have interests in a multitude of areas. I am interested in politics, both international and domestic, consumer technology, sports such as tennis, cricket and the various events at Olympics, history, geography and travel.

Many people I know are interested in only a few things that are of immediate concern to them. When I was a student, many of my peers focused so much on their books that they had neither the time nor the inclination to read the newspaper. And then the same people ran from pillar to post asking others how to prepare for group discussions and interviews when the placement season arrived. Even today I know a lot of people who are one – dimensional when it comes to interests. Apart from cricket that most in India follow, many people would struggle to strike a conversation with anyone beyond one or two topics. So if you are into stocks and follow cricket and happen to meet someone who works in Technology and doesn’t like cricket, the conversation gets muted after just a few minutes. Weather in India is hardly the ice-breaker it is in United Kingdom.

Thankfully, my varied interests help me fuel my passion for reading and writing. It helps me strike and maintain conversations. If you are interested in learning about different things, it not just makes you more informed but also improves your social stock. If your wife isn’t your best friend or doesn’t share the same interests, you can always avoid boredom or loneliness by immersing yourselves in your long list of interests and passions.

That’s what I do.

Leave a comment